Monday, April 27, 2009

More readers comment on Cibou

Comments we've heard

"I'm weeping..."

"The way I thought about native people has been changed by this book."

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Cape Breton novelist to tour NS, NB

Cape Breton writer Susan Young de Biagi, whose novel Cibou is shortlisted for two Atlantic Book Awards is scheduled to take part in several literary events in connection with the awards next week.

The awards, to be presented in Dartmouth next Wednesday evening (April 15th), will recognize the best books published in Atlantic Canada last year.

Cibou, published by Cape Breton University Press, is shortlisted for the Dartmouth Book Award for fiction, as well as the Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing.

Ms. Biagi will appear along with a few other well-known award nominees, at venues and times listed below.

Cibou (pronounced see-boo) is the story of a young Mi’kmaw woman, the interactions between her community and the ways in which early Europeans influenced their lives. Cibou is the name of a fictitious Mi’kmaw community on Cape Breton.

The novel has been adopted as part of the Nova Scotia Dept. of Education’s Learning Resource for Literary Success program in provincial schools, selected for the Aboriginal Books for schools catalogue and is currently under review as a possible learning resource in BC classrooms.

April 15 - noon: Halifax Public Library Spring Garden Road - Readings and Q&A with Susan Young de Biagi, Douglas Arthur Brown and Anne Simpson
April 15 - 7 pm: Alderney Landing Theatre - Atlantic Book Awards Celebration
April 16 - 7 pm: Halifax Public Library Alderney Gate - An evening of Readings, with Susan Young de Biagi, Catherine Banks and Douglas Arthur Brown
April 17 - 7 pm: Mount Allison University, hosted by Tidewater Books - An evening of Readings, Q&A, signings, with Susan Young de Biagi, Mark Blagrave, Ian Colford and Donna Morrissey.
Sat April 18 - 2 pm: Moncton Chapters - Closing retail celebration of the 2009 Atlantic Book Awards, with Susan Young de Biagi, Ian Colford, Donna Morrissey, William Naftel and Susan Tooke.